TCS World 10K

The World 10K Bengaluru (known as the TCS World 10K Bengaluru for sponsorship reasons by Tata Consultancy Services (TCS)) is an annual 10 kilometres road running competition which takes place in BangaloreIndia.[1] The competition was first held in 2008 and usually takes place in late May. The first three editions were sponsored by Sunfeast (ITC Limited).

The race, which is certified by AIMS-certified,[2] begins and ends at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium, after looping through the roads of Bangalore. The different race categories at the event are – World 10K (participation restricted to International and National athletes), Open 10K (participation open to amateur runners), Majja Run (a 5.7 km run meant for fun runners), Senior Citizens’ Run (a 4.2 km run for Senior Citizens), and the Champions with Disability event (a 4.2 km event for persons with disability). In addition to this there also is a 10 km Corporate Champions category in which companies can field a team of 3 members and compete to achieve the best aggregate time.

The event is organised by Procam International, a sport and leisure management firm which is also responsible for the Mumbai Marathon and Delhi Half Marathon. There is a total prize pot of US$170,000 and race winners receive over $21,000 for their victories.[3] Further significant prizes are offered to the best Indian competitors and teams.[4]

The race is directed by former British runner Hugh Jones. A total of 23,000 runners participated in the various events that took place at the 2008 edition.[5] The current men’s course record is held by World Half Marathon champion Geoffery Kipsang Kamworor with a time of 0:27:44. Geoffery Kamworor set this new course record in the 2014 edition bettering Zersenay Tadese time of 27:51 set in the inaugural year of the event. The 2014 edition also saw a new course record in the Women’s category, set by Lucy Kabu in a time of 0:31:48. This was 10 seconds better than the previous best by Wude Ayalew set in 2010.

The 5th edition of the competition also offered incentives other than the prize money like Limited T-shirts which would be given away to the top 1500 finishers in the race.

The 7th edition was held on 18 May 2014 with legendary Olympian Carl Lewis as its event ambassador.[6]

The 8th edition was held on 17 May 2015 with French Sprinter Marie Jose Perec as its event ambassador.[1]

The 9th edition was held on 15 May 2016 with track and field athlete Mike Powell as its event ambassador.[7]

The 10th edition was held on 2017 with Stephanie Rice as its event ambassador.

The 11th edition was held on 2018 with Mary Pierce as its event ambassador.